Post-fledging dispersal of Barn Owl in the lower Tagus Valley




The study area includes the 10 municipalities (ca. 3.750 km2) located in the flat zone of the lower Tagus River and tributaries (from Santarém-Alpiarça in the northern part until Vila Franca de Xira-Alcochete in the south). With the set up of the telemetry task (schedule for 2009), the area will likely increase to ca. 17.800 km2.


area pormenor

The area of Ponta da Erva (Tagus Estuary) is in green. The broader light blue line represents the final stretch of the Tagus River.